PHILLY BOXING HISTORY - October 15, 2017  
Home Boxers Fights Arenas Non-Boxers Gyms Relics More About Contact


Story by John DiSanto
Photos by Darryl Cobb Jr. /
Additional Phots by Jano Cohen


On Sunday, October 15th, the 10th Annual Briscoe Awards were presented at Xfinity Live! in South Philadelphia. Former two-time champion Steve "USS" Cunningham served as the celebrity host, and the event was attended by the most of winners, their families and teams, former and current boxing stars, other boxing people and boxing fans. Everyone crammed into the venue to celebrate the biggest and best achievements of the Philly boxing scene.

Jason Sosa accepts his "2016 Philly Fighter of the Year" award.

Jesse Hart addresses the crowd about his "2016 Philly Fight of the Year".

Californian Dashon Johnson could not be in attendance to accept his
"Fight of the Year" award, so his promoter, J Russell Peltz represented him.

Peltz, Hart and celebrity host Steve Cunningham.

Tyrone Brunson with his "Knockout of the Year" award.

"Upset of the Year" winner, Taneal Goyco speaks to the crowd.

Damon Allen Jr. was named the "One to Watch".

Allen with his great grandfather Mitchell Allen, a former fighter and trainer.

Jaron Ennis with his "Rookie of the Year" award.

Cunningham with "2016 Amateur of the Year" Dylan Price
and LBC President Bill Billingham.

Dylan Price was the "Amateur of the Year".

Christian Carto accepting his "Everett Brothers Award".

Carto with the Mike Everett, Eddie Everett, and award sponsor Neil R. Gelb.

The ten Photo Contest entries.

Photographer Darryl Cobb Jr. won a Briscoe Medal
for the "2016 Photo of the Year" (Photo by Jano Cohen).

"Legacy" Darryl; Cobb's winning photo of Jesse Hart and Cyclone Hart.

Keith Hunter, the son of Philly legend Gil Turner,
the next recipient in the Gravestone Program.

The Briscoe Award, given to Jason Sosa, Jesse Hart and Dashon Johnson
for their 2016 achievements.

Celebrity co-host Steve "USS" Cunningham.

Cunningham speaks to the Crowd.

Mike Everett talks about his brother Tyrone Everett.

Eddie Everett presents the "Everett Brothers Award".

"Everett" winner Christian Carto.

Carto with his trophy.

Dylan Price with managers Doc Nowicki and Dave Price.

Gil Turner's family.

Jaron Ennis, the "2016 Rookie of the Year".

Damon Allen Jr., "The One to Watch".

Steve Cunningham and Damon Allen Jr.

Taneal Goyco with his trainer Rodnry Rice.

"Upset of the Year" winner, Taneal Goyco.

Goyco and Cunningham.

"KO of the Year" winner Tyrone Brunson.

Brunson with Cunningham.

J Russell Peltz and Jesse Hart.

Jason Sosa

The "2016 Philly Fighter of the Year".

Sosa with his Briscoe Award.

Jason Sosa.

Taneal Goyco at Xfinity Live.

Tevin Farmer was not on hand to pick up his two Briscoe Awards -
Prospect of the Year" and "Performance of the Year".

Bernard Hopkins also did not come to the Briscoe Awards to accept his "Honorary Retirement Award".






John DiSanto - Philadelphia - October 15, 2017