Home Boxers Fights Arenas Non-Boxers Gyms Relics More About Contact

Story by John DiSanto
Photos by Darryl Cobb Jr. / Instagram: @darrylcobb
Additional Photos by Jano Cohen (where indicated)


For the first time, the Pennsylvania Boxing Hall of Fame and Briscoe Awards joined forces to present one big public event to award their respective honorees. Bernard Hopkins and Michael Spinks led the 2022 Class of the PABHOF, while Jaron Ennis, Gabriel Rosado and others, representing the current Philly fight scene, accepted their Briscoe Awards. The event played out before 400 fans at Rivers Casino in Philadelphia, with Nino De Buono and Joey Eye serving as hosts. This was the 64th year of inductions for the PABHOF and the 15th annual Briscoe Awards.

The PABHOF class included Bernard Hopkins, Michael Spinks, Michael Moorer, Freddie Pendleton, Zahir Raheem, Lou Bizzarro, Battling Murray, Dick Welsh, Tom Yankello (trainer), Rob Murray (manager/advisor), Tony Bersani (trainer), Tommy Ried (referee), and Harold Moore (matchmaker). Hopkins, Spinks, Raheem, Bizzarro, Yankello, Bersani, and the families of Harold Moore, Battling Murray, and Rob Murray, were all in attendance.

Briscoe Awards were presented to Gabriel Rosado (2021 KO of the Year), Jaron Ennis (The One to Watch), Atif Oberlton (2021 Rookie of the Year), Shinard Bunch (2021 Prospect of the Year), Juan Rivera (2021 Amateur of the Year), James Martin (2021 Upset of the Year), Nahir Albright (Breakout Fighter of 2021), Darryl Cobb Jr. (2021 Photo of the Year), and Christopher Burgos and Gerardo Martinez (2021 Philly Fight of the Year). Philly Fighter of the Year, Stephen Fulton Jr. was not present, and current contender Jesse Hart accepted the "Living Legend Award" for his ailing father Cyclone Hart.

Additional honors went to amateur boxer Elijah Harvey, who received a $1,000 scholarship from the Veteran Boxers Association-Ring One. Also boxing writer Bernard Fernandez, who was unable to attend his induction ceremony at the International Boxing Hall of Fame last month, received his IBHOF ring at this event.

The crowd was filled with fans and boxing celebrities. The following photos were taken by Darryl Cobb Jr. and Jano Cohen (where credited).

Inductee Zahir Raheem with trainer Fred Jenkins & host Joey Eye

Bernard Hopkins with VBA President Frank Kubach

Inductee Lou Bizzarro

Inductee Michael Spinks

Inductee Tom Yankello & Joey Eye

Anthony Rossi accepts for his grandfather Battling Murray

Rob Murray Jr. accepts for his father "Big" Rob Murray

Harold Jubilee, the son of Harold Moore, with Joey Eye

Inductee Tony Bersani flanked by Joey Eye and Nino Del Buono

Hosts Nino Del Buono and Joey Eye accept for Freddie Pendleton

Fight of the Year winners Christopher Burgos and Gerardo Martinez

Jesse Hart accepts the Living Legend Briscoe Award for his father Cyclone Hart

Gabriel Rosado addresses the crowd

Rookie of the Year Atif Oberlton with his Briscoe Medal

Prospect of the Year Shinard Bunch

Juan Rivera, the 2021 Amateur Boxer of the Year

Jaron "Boots" Ennis accepts his Briscoe Award

Darryl Cobb Jr. accepts his third "Photo of the Year" award

James Martin scored the "Upset of the Year"

Nahir Albright was the Breakout Fighter of 2021

VBa Vice President Joe Mathis presents a scholarship to Elijah Harvey

Fioght of the Year winner Christopher Burgos

Gerard Martinez talks about his Fight of the Year performance

Hosts Joey Eye and Nino Del Buono

Bernard Fernandez received with BWAA President Joe Santoloquito

Rev. John Roberts, the son of Harold Johnson, begins the ceremony with a prayer

The family of inductee Harold Moore

Terry Nilon and Rich Pagano

Gee Cullmer, Crystal Custus, and Rob Murray Jr.

Bernard Fernandez & Joe Santoloquito

Steve Cunningham gives away a copy of his graphic novel

Bernard Hopkins

Father/trainer Bozy Ennis with his son Boots Ennis

Hopkins with a fan

Rose and John Gallagher

"King" Gabriel Rosado

Juan Rivera with his father Johnny Rivera

The crowd watches the ceremony

Michael Spinks arrives

Writer Nigel Collins with Nino De Buono

Juan Rivera and his family

Former tw-time heavyweight champ Tim Witherspoon

Hopkins addresses the crowd

Boxing personality David "TNT" Ruff

Former champion Nate Miller

Ring legends Michael Spinks and Jeff Chandler

Aaron Snowell, Jeff Chandler, Livvy & Steve Cunningham, Tim Witherspoon, Michael Spinks, and Craif Houck, President of the
Indiana Boxing Hall of Fame

Joltin' Jeff Chandler takes the stage

Aaron Snowell, Michael Spinks, and Jeff Chandler

Promoter, announcer, gym proprietor, and former fighter Alexis Barbosa

Rudy Battle and Rick Steigerwald

Inductees Tom Yankello and Lou Bizzarro

Former boxer Monty Sherrick

Leon Muhammad, Jim Rowan, Michael Spinks, Tim Witherspoon, Aaron Snowell, and Dave Ruff

Jeff Chandler with photographer Bill Baron

Atif Oberlton and his Briscoe Award

Boxing judge and PABHOF'er Lynn Carter

Kitten Hayward (and 30 others) were remembered in the In Memoriam video

Broadcaster Bill Vargas with Michael Spinks

Leon Muhammad and Rob Murray Jr.

Brittany and Bernie McCloskey with Monty Sherrick

Linda and J Russell Peltz

Amateur boxer Elijah Harvey

VBA Vice President Joe Mathis

Inductee Lou Bizarro and family

Jim Rowan, Leon Muhammad, and J Russell Peltz

The Briscoe Award winners

We would like to thank all of the fans who came to support the event, our advertisers, and our sponsors: The book Thirty Dollars and a Cut Eye, Iron Workers Union Local 401, Iron Workers Union 405, the Operating Engineers, Plumbers Union Local 690, the family of Jesse Smith, IBF / USBA, District Council 21, Sheet Metal Union Local 19, Banner Promotions, Joe Hand Promotions, The Don Elbaum Adoration Society with Max Boxing, Laborers' International Union of North America # 332, Philadelphia Sports Hall of Fame, Cement Masons Union Local 592, Rock Ministries of Philadelphia, Kings Promotions, Cento Foods, New Jersey Boxing Hall of Fame, Jimmy's Timeout Sports Pub, Philadelphia Row Home Magazine, Rock Steady Boxing, Gionta Management, Reyburn Consulting, D-Boys Boxing, RDR Promotions, the Joey Giardello Statue, Atlantic City Boxing Hall of Fame, AtPro Transmissions, VBA-Ring One, and Philly Boxing History Inc.




John DiSanto - Philadelphia - July 24, 2022