PHILLY BOXING HISTORY - August 12, 2023  
Home Boxers Fights Arenas Non-Boxers Gyms Relics More About Contact

Story & Photos by David Algranati / The Fight Photos


Jesse Hart returned to the ring after a 20-month layoff and made relatively short work of his opponent Elio Trosch of Argentina. The scheduled 10-rounder opened an ten-bout card promoted by Tom Brown at the MGM National Harbor in Oxon Hill, MD on Saturday night. After winning the first round without seeing much offense from Trosch, Hart stepped up his attack in the second. Trosch careened into the ropes from a Hart left hook, which was the first time Trosch went down in the fight.

After three knockdowns in the round, referee Eric Irizarry stopped the bout, resulting in Hart winning by TKO at 2:37 of the second round. The stoppage improved Hart's record to 29-3, 23 KOs. Trosch's record fell to 15-11-2, 7 KOs.

In the main event, Emmanuel Rodriguez, Vega Baja, PR, won the vacant IBF bantamweight world title with a 12-round unanimous decision over Melvin Lopez, a Miami-based Nicaraguan. Rodriguez dropped Lopez three time in the last round, but Lopez survived until the final bell. Judges Waleska Roldan, Robin Taylor, and Paul Wallace each scored the fight a 120-105 shutout for Rodriguez, now 22-2, 13 KOs. The win began Emmanuel's second IBF title reign. He lost his previous title in 2019. Lopez fell to 29-2, 19 KOs.

Gary Antuanne Russell knocked out Kent Cruz in the first round of their scheduled 10-round junior welterweight fight. The time was 2:39.

Welterweight Gabriel Maestre upset Travon Marshall in another scheduled 10-round fight. Maestre stopped Marshall at 2:06 of round two.

These three bouts were televised live on Showtime.

In the other non-televised bouts:
Michael Angeletti W8 (U) Jonathan Marcano, bantamweights, 8 rounds.
Jose Benavidez Jr. TKO5 Sladan Janjanin, middleweights, 10 rounds.
Damien Vazquez TKO6 Jeronil Borres, junior featherweights, 8 rounds.
Daniel Blancas W6 (U) Devaun Lee, super middleweights, 6 rounds.
David Whitmire TKO1 Jody Tientcheu, welterweights, 4 rounds.
Marcus Browne W10 (U) Adrian Taylor, cruiserweights, 10 rounds.




John DiSanto - Oxon Hill, MD - August 12, 2023